- Boards & Commissions
- City Hall
- Code Compliance
- Financial Reports & Budgets
- Human Resources
- City Council
- Meeting Agendas & Minutes
- Open Records
- Payment Options
- Building Permits & Inspections
- Animal Services
- Emergency Services
- Parks & Recreation
- Gas & Electric Utilities
- Sanitation & Recycling
- Water Utilities
- New Resident Resources
- Westside Eagle Observer
- Contact Us
WINTER STORM WATCH - December 06, 2018
For the following counties in Arkansas: Benton, Carroll, Washington AR, Madison, Crawford, and Fr... [more...]
It's important to make sure that your animals are taken care of during the hot days of summer. Click Here for tips and information on hot weather safety tips.
The City of Decatur Animal Services' department provides the following assistance to all residents and is dedicated to helping protect the health, safety and welfare of both people and animals in our community.
- Responding to stray animal complaints
- Investigating dangerous animals
- Barking dog complaints
- Trapping nuisance wildlife and loose livestock
- Carcass removal
- Ordinance enforcement
All tags required for dogs inside the City Limits must be worn by the dog on their collar. These tags should include the Rabies vaccination tag, and Animal Registration tag.
All Dogs inside the city limits of Decatur must have a city tag and a rabie vaccination tag. These tags are required to be renewed annually. The city tag can be obtained from the City of Decatur Police Department located at 185 Main St.
According to the "Rules Pertaining to Rabies Control" by the Arkansas State Board of Health Section II Paragraph A and B:
(A)"The owner of every dog or cat four(4) months of age or older shall have the animal vaccinated against rabies. Vaccination at a younger age should be in accordance with the labels of USDA licensed rabies vaccines. Unvaccinated dogs or cat more than four (4) months of age, that are acquired or moved into the stae must be vaccinateed within thirty (30) days of purchase or arrival, unless there is documented evidence of current vaccination."
(B)." The owner of a dog or cat shall have the animal revaccinated during the twelfth (12) month after initial vaccination."
Also according to Arkansas Code 20-19-305 "All dogs, cats, and other animals shall be vaccinated against rabies as required by the State Board of Health."
Other Arkansas State Law references: Control of Contagious Disease A.C.A. 12-19-302 et seq., Rabies Control Act. A.C.A. 20-19-301 et seq., Vaccination Defined, A.C.A 20-19-302, and Illegal Acts When Person Bitten, A.C.A. 20-19-306.
City ordinance 09-01 Article II Section 2-3 Dog License:
"(a) All dogs over the age of three months shall be licensed yearly within the city.
(b) Applicansts shall pay an annual fee in accordance with the following schedule: the annual fee shall be:
a. Spayed female or neutered male $3.00
b. Unspayed female or unneutered male $10.00
c.) Application for a license must be made within 30 days after obtaining a dog over three months of age, or within 30 days after dog is three months of age, or within 30 days of the owner or person in control establishing residence in the city.
d.) The license shall be valid for a period of one year from date of its issuance and shall run concurrent with the rabies vaccination.
e.) Owners of dogs whose dogs are actively serving a visually or hearing impaired person as an accompanying guide or hearing ear dog are not required to pay the license fee required by this section but are required to comply with all other provisions of this article."